Directorate of Minority Welfare
Directorate of Minority Welfare

The Equal Opportunity Act 2010 took effect in August 2011.

  This new Act replaces the Equal Opportunity Act 1995 and strengthens discrimination laws in Victoria by changing some key definitions, creating new responsibilities for the Commission, and strengthening the Commission’s role in helping government, business and the community identify and eliminate discrimination.

  The objectives of the Equal Opportunity Act 2010 are to encourage the identification and elimination of discrimination, sexual harassment and victimisation and their causes, and to promote and facilitate the progressive realisation of equality.

  To do this the Commission will provide a timely and effective dispute resolution service and has been given tools to encourage and facilitate best practice and compliance.

  It is still against the law under the Equal Opportunity Act 2010 to discriminate against a person on the personal characteristics listed in the Equal Opportunity Act 1995.

  It is also against the law to sexually harass someone or to victimise them for speaking up about their rights, making a complaint, helping someone else make a complaint or refusing to do something that would be contrary to the Equal Opportunity Act.

Download the Equal Opportunity Act 2010 quick guide for more information.

  Under the Act the Commission may also intervene in cases or appear as amicus curiae to assist a court or tribunal considering equal opportunity issues. To notify the Commission about a case that may fall within our guidelines see the Contact details for Equal Opportunity Act interventions flyer (PDF, 156KB).



Directorate of Minority Welfare
News Flash

   Application invited for Prof.Joseph Mundassery Scholarship Award

   Application invited for ITC Fee reimbursement Scheme

   Application invited for Urdu Scholarship

   Application invited for CH Muhammed Koya Scholarship

   Application invited for APJ Abdul Kalam Scholarship

   Application invited for CA/ICWA/CS Scholarship

   Application Invited for Mother Theresa Scholarship

   premarital Counselling Centers faculty list Published South Zone(Ernakulam to Thiruvananthapuram)

   premarital Counselling Centers faculty list Published North Zone(Thrissur to Kasaragode)

   Revised Premarital Instructions

   Premarital Agreement Model 2

   Centrally Sponsored Schemes of Minority Welfare Department

   Premarital Agreement Model

   Premarital Agreement details

   Minority Coaching Centers and Subcenters

   Nomination for Awards of Excellence in Management of Waqf Institutions-2018

   Application Invited for Empanelling Private ITI

   Selection List of CCMY Faculty in Thiruvananthapuram

   Application for the post of Nazim,Durgah Khwaja Saheb,Ajmer

   Achievements of CCMY

   Selection list of Faculty in Kozhikode

   Career Guidance Programme-Application invited from Schools

   Selection List of CCMY Malappuram On 23-24 April 2018

   Selection List of CCMY Aluva On 20-21 April 2018

   Selection List of CCMY Palakkad On 30-04-2018

   CCMY Admission Form

   Application for Sub Center

   Schemes 2018-19